Breakfast: A Simple Gesture

I’ve always enjoyed breakfast, especially when I go on a vacation. It’s been several years, if not decades that I’ve even ate breakfast on a daily basis. Probably never. Breakfast for me is saved for the slow pace of a weekend.

Getting up this morning…an hour earlier because of Daylight Savings Time has ended for now, it’s a perfect time to prepare breakfast for my youngest son and I. Being a self-proclaimed home chef, you’d figure that I would have all that I need to prepare a breakfast. Well it came down to having no eggs, something I forgot at the store last night. My son (13) and I went to the store this morning to get some large eggs for the blueberry muffins and of course to prepare a couple of hearty omelets! My oldest son wasn’t here, so it was a great opportunity to have some one on one time with my other son.

I enjoy cooking. As I’ve said many times before, the kitchen is a place for fellowship with friends and family. Guess that is why many Baptists have a weight problem, too much fellowship in the kitchen! I can laugh because I’m Baptist and God knows I’m right. 🙂 I’m sure other congregations have the same problem!

It’s a nice quiet morning here, my sons always enjoy when I cook. Fast food and restaurants are never spoken here. We have a good time together and at times my kids will show me a thing or two in the kitchen. I’m proud that I have inspired my two teenage sons to cook when they are here. I’m sure it is rare these days, a father and his kids swapping recipes or “Let me show you what I came up with!” A great feeling of accomplishment to see a simple gesture of kindness spurs creativity in the kitchen of the younger head-phone wearing, Xbox playing skateboarding crowd.

My two boys have been picky eaters for years. I guess many kids are because baby boomers hardly take the time to cook anymore, which is sad. Frozen pizza and fish sticks isn’t dinner, neither is fast food in a bag. I changed that about 6 years ago when I started cooking and introducing them to different foods…then it was onto seasonings and herbs. So far so good.

What I’m saying is several things in a short article. A simple gesture of breakfast brings families closer. A time for fellowship. Love and Laugh right? You bet. Taking the time to do something for some else speaks volumes.

If you haven’t cook for someone in a while, try it. At times all it starts with is crack of an egg and the aroma of sizzling bacon.

